Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

ASPA Announces Several Major Award Winners

Washington, DC
–The American Society for Public Administration pleased to announce the recipients of several of the Society’s major awards. All of the awards will be presented at the Award Ceremony during the Society’s National Conference in Las Vegas, March 2-6, 2012.

ASPA’s extensive award program advances excellence in public administration in the simplest and most effective way.

It identifies and illuminates government that works and government
employees who work well. Today, it is more important than ever that
effective and efficient government be recognized, reinforced, and,
whenever possible, imitated with the hope of providing better service to
the public.

Likewise, ASPA’s awards recognize those researchers and professors
who have made outstanding contributions to public administration
literature and in the classroom.

Providing a forum through which the public sector’s best and
brightest can shine is what ASPA’s awards are all about. With its vision
of continuous improvement, ASPA structures its awards to provide
guidance not only to the Society but to the entire public administration
community as to the many positive directions toward which it can

Elmer B. Staats Lifetime Achievement Award for Distinguished Public Service
This award honors a public administrator’s accomplishments and contributions to public service and ASPA over a lifetime.

Dwight Waldo Award
Presented to persons who have made outstanding contributions to the professional literature of public administration over an extended career.

Charles H. Levine Award
Presented by ASPA and the National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration (NASPAA), this award recognizes a public administration faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in three major areas of the field of teaching, research and service to the wider community.

Paul P. Van Riper Award for Excellence and Service
Presented to an individual who has made significant contributions to both the academic and practitioner communities of public administration. Sponsored by the ASPA Endowment.

International Public Administration Award
This award honors a distinguished foreign scholar or practitioner for contributions to public administration in other nations.

John W. Gaston, Jr. Award for Excellence in Public Service Management
This award is presented to a public manager for excellence in public service management, particularly in the areas of natural resource management or environmental protection.

  • William E. Solomon, Chief, Contract Mgmt. and Procurement Division
    Miami-Dade Parks, Recreation and Open Spaces

Gloria Hobson Nordin Social Equity Award
This award is presented to a public administrator in recognition of distinguished contributions toward achieving fairness, justice and equity in the community.

NASPAA/ASPA Distinguished Research Award
This award recognizes the
research of an individual whose published work has had a substantial
impact on the thought and understanding of public administration.

Donald C. Stone Service to ASPA Award
Pays tribute to ASPA members who have contributed outstanding service to the Society.

Center for Accountability and Performance Awards (CAP)
Harry Hatry Distinguished Performance Measurement Practice Award
Presented to an individual whose outstanding teaching, education, training and consultation in performance measurement has made a significant contribution to the practice of public administration.

Organizational Leadership Award
Recognizes outstanding applications of a systems approach to performance measurement that has resulted in a culture change, sustained improvements, and demonstrated positive effects on government performance and accountability.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *