Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

ASPA Executive Director One of Five Association Leaders Named to ASAE’s 2012 Class of Fellows

Washington, DC—Five association leaders, including Antoinette Samuel, executive director of the American Society for Public Administration (ASPA), have been named to ASAE’s 2012 Class of Fellows. The Fellows program recognizes individual accomplishments and contributions to ASAE and the association community, and is a call to service for the profession.

“The Fellows program asks leaders to continue and seek out service as authors, mentors, leaders, and speakers,” said Stacy Tetschner, CEO, National Speakers Association, and chair of ASAE’s Fellows Selection Committee. “The ASAE Fellows program is an honorary recognition bestowed upon less than one percent of ASAE’s membership representing the best of the association community. The 2012 Class of Fellows is made up of committed association leaders, and it is my pleasure to welcome them to the Fellows community.”

When asked about the distinction, Samuel said, “To be selected as a Fellow of the American Society of Association Executives (ASAE) is a mark of distinction. It denotes leadership excellence, professional expertise, and most importantly service to the profession. To be able to demonstrate this service through ASAE is an honor. Moreover, to be the executive director of an organization that represents public service only deepens this honor.”

ASPA President Kuotsai Tom Liou, a professor in the school of public administration at the University of Central Florida, remarked, “This is a great news; a well-deserved recognition of Toni’s personal achievement. Our recent successful national conference proved, once again, that ASPA is among the top public service organizations in the world. Now, this honor for Toni  solidifies what we at ASPA already knew; that our organization is staffed by some of the top professionals in association management. Congratulations, Toni!”

The Class of 2012 includes:

Larry D. Alexander
President and Chief Executive Officer
Detroit Metro Convention and Visitors Bureau

Matthew R. D’Uva, CAE
President and CEO
Society of Consumer Affairs Professionals International

Antoinette A. Samuel, MPA, CAE
Executive Director
American Society for Public Administration

Scott D. Wiley, CAE
Executive Director
Delta Sigma Phi Fraternity

Richard Yep, CAE
Executive Director
American Counseling Association

The 2012 Fellows join 234 association industry professionals to receive this designation since the program’s inception in 1986. Serving as role models and ambassadors for the association community, Fellows seek out opportunities to serve on boards and committees, and by participating as speakers, authors, reviewers, and mentors.

The Fellows selection process includes endorsement by a peer; an in-depth application describing the individual’s innovation, leadership, and commitment to the profession; an interview with a member of the selection committee; and selection from among a group of highly-qualified candidates.

For more information about ASAE’s Fellows program, visit www.asaecenter.org/fellows.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *