Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Scholars and Practitioners Honored at 2015 Annual Conference

March 6, 2015

Twenty leading practitioners, scholars and organizations will be honored for their contributions and extraordinary commitment to public service during the American Society for Public Administration’s Annual Conference in Chicago. The 2015 recipients represent a diverse mix of individuals working in the public, nonprofit and academic arenas, as well as the next generation of public servants.

This year’s honorees have made positive and lasting contributions toward promoting integrity in public service. Their work, research and leadership have been instrumental in building a stronger public sector. Each honoree has advanced scholarship over their lifetime and served both ASPA and the public in significant ways.

In recognition of lifetime scholarship, contributions and dedication to the public service field, ASPA will present awards to the following individuals and organizations:

Frank Thompson (Rutgers University at Newark)
The Dwight Waldo Award, which honors outstanding contributions to the professional literature, and the Charles Levine Award for demonstrated commitment in teaching, research and service to the wider public administration community.

Chester A. Newland (University of Southern California)
The Elmer Staats Lifetime Achievement Award for Distinguished Public Service, honoring an individual’s contributions to public service over a lifetime.

Montgomery Van Wart (University of Southern California, San Bernardino)
The Paul Van Riper Award
, presented to an individual who has made contributions to the academic and practitioner fields.

Barbara Kudrycka, a member of the European Parliament
The International Public Administration Award, for work on a global scale to strengthen the public sector and understanding of public service.

The Volcker Alliance
The Public Integrity Award,
which recognizes an organization that has made outstanding contributions to responsible conduct in public service.

Akron PeaceMakers
The Equal Opportunity, Affirmative Action Exemplary Practice Award, in recognition of work done to advance social equity.

H. George Frederickson
The Gloria Hobson Nordin Social Equity Award, given annually by ASPA’s Section on Democracy and Social Justice to a leader in ethics and promoting social equity.

Kamyar Guivetchi (California Department of Water Resources)
 The John Gaston Jr. Award for Public Service Management.

ASPA’s Sacramento Chapter
The Patricia J. Yearwood Chapter/Section Award, for efforts to provide local and special interest networking opportunities for members.

Mary Hamilton (University of Nebraska at Omaha)
The H. George Frederickson PA TIMES Best Article Award, to the author of the article published in PA TIMES judged most informative, critical and contributing to new knowledge.

Steve Bobes, Miami-Dade County
The Donald C. Stone Service to ASPA Award.

This year, Public Administration Review, the premier journal for those in public management and administration, will celebrate its 75th anniversary. The journal will present awards for the best submission, commentary and book review during the 2014 publication year.

The Louis Brownlow Award will be awarded to Shui-Yan Tang (University of Southern California); Richard F. Callahan (University of San Francisco) and Mark Pisano (University of Southern California).

The William and Frederick C. Mosher Award will be presented to Zachary W. Oberfield (Haverford College).

The Burchfield Award for Best Book Review will be awarded to Martin Lodge (London School of Economics).

The newly established Chester Newland Award recognizes the best commentary and will be presented to Dall Forsythe (New York University Wagner Graduate School of Public Service) and Juanita Scarlett (Park Strategies, LLC).

In addition to the above awards, ASPA’s Center for Accountability and Performance (CAP) will recognize organizations and individuals that have helped promote efficient and effective administration through model performance management techniques.

The Harry Hatry Distinguished Performance Measurement and Management Practice Award will be awarded to Shelley Metzenbaum (The Volcker Alliance).

The Joseph Wholey Distinguished Scholarship Award will be presented to Rusi Sun and Gregg G. Van Ryzin (Rutgers University).

The Organizational Leadership Award will be awarded to the City of Louisville Office of Performance Improvement.


1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)


The American Society for Public Administration is the largest and most prominent professional association for public administration. It is dedicated to advancing the art, science, teaching and practice of public and non-profit administration.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *